h1

Compass Capers

April 15, 2012

I’d like to send a big thank-you to everyone who commented on last week’s blog post with opinions on classes. I was very pleased with all the suggestions and will really take them into consideration when planning new projects!

Now for my exciting news:

Compass Capers – Create Your Own Unique Mariner’s Compass Quilt is now in print and available on my website!!!

Thanks to all who sent suggestions for the book name or voted for their favorite in the previous post. This title was the winner that made the front cover with a good majority of the votes:

Compass Capers - Create Your Own Unique Mariner's Compass Quilt

The runner up book name was one of my husband’s suggestions and it made the back cover:

Compass Capers book, back cover

Inside you’ll find instructions for drafting compasses any shape or any size. It’s not difficult because it’s done with paper folding techniques and there are pictures every step of the way. Then learn to paper piece your creation with clear step by step instructions and loads of pictures once again.

There are also photographs of many of the Mariner’s Compass quilts I’ve created over the years.

Most Mariner’s Compass books limit the pattern options. Compass Capers is different. By letting you decide on the shape and size of your blocks, the pattern options are endless. Your imagination is your only limitation!

To order your own autographed copy go to http://www.chrisquilts.net/books/ !

6 comments

  1. So glad your new book is in print! I just submitted an order. Looking forward to your WCTC class in June! I was hooked at your demo at Quilt Fest!


  2. the book is wonderful Chris wonderful ideas, illustrations and directions. Thank you for providing a resource for creative Mariners Compass quilts
    Barbara May


  3. I am in LOVE with this book! I took a short 1 hour lecture from Chris and I promptly went home and easily made a square compass and a triangular compass – easy peasy! And trust me – never thought I’d be able to do these – EVER!


  4. Compass Capers is one awesome instructional booklet. Chris’s method and instructions are so precise and exacting and she removed from my thought what seemed to be so complicated about piecing a mariner’s compass.
    Thank you Chris for the excellent instructions and wonderful contributions in the art world of quilting. It has been stated and it is so true, what blesses one blesses all…
    Michelle Costen


  5. Chris,

    Will you have your book at some of the local quilt shops? I’d like a copy but I don’t do paypal.

    Lori


    • Hi Lori, Eventually I’m hoping to have it in shops, but if you’d like a copy now you may send a check for $22 to me at: Chris Lynn Kirsch, N7568 Ceasar Road, Watertown, WI 53094. I’ll put an autographed copy in the mail to you as soon as I get it. Thanks!



Leave a comment