h1

Opinions Please!

November 20, 2011

I’m currently in the throes of writing my third book. This one will be similar to the others in that it’s based on a class I’ve taught many times and students have asked for it in book form. It will differ from the others in that I’m going the route of self-publishing. I’m very blessed in that my daughter-in-law, Betsy, is a talented graphic designer and we’re finding we make a great team.

We’ve reached the point of editing and I’m having a difficult time deciding on a title for the book. While riding in the car the other day I asked my husband to help me do a little brainstorming and he gave me a few good chuckles. Instead of helping me narrow down the options, he just gave me more. So, I thought I would get some feedback from quilters this time.

As many of you know, my technique differs from most of the other books out there in that the drafting is done using only a pencil, ruler and paper folding techniques. Because of this compasses can be made any size and any shape. They can then be accurately paper pieced.

With the other books on the market, the pattern you see is all you get, so there’s no opportunity for creativity.

So…. how do I get this difference across on the cover of the book? That’s where you come in. The following are the titles that have made the cut so far (in no particular order). Please read them over and let me know which one appeals to you. Thanks in advance :-)!

Compass Creations

Compass Capers

Not Your Mama’s Compass (this was one of Mike’s)

Create a Compass Your Way

Journey With a Compass

May the Compass Be With You (Mike’s favorite!)

Compass Capers – Create Your Own Unique Mariner’s Compass Block

Finding Your Way With a Compass  – Who Needs a GPS?

Getting Lost With a Compass (another of Mike’s)

 

30 comments

  1. How about: Mariner’s Compass, Endless Possibilities


    • I’ve taken your class! (a while back st Fabric Fusion). I like the longer version of Compass Capers – somewhat of a subtitle!


  2. I really like Compass Capers – Create Your Own Unique Mariner’s Compass Block. I hope you use the top picture…that quilt is a beauty! I really enjoyed your “show and tell” at the Lake County Quilt Group.


  3. How about Journey with a Compass–Map Your Own Design


  4. I like Cathy’s suggestion above, not too long, catchy main title and then a little description that tells how your book is different. Maybe “Mapping” instead of “Map”


  5. I like the last part of “Finding Your Way With a Compass – Who Needs a GPS?” but the first part could be improved and shortened.


  6. how exciting!! I like the “Journey With a Compass” and really like how Cathy and Sarah added —- Mapping Your Own Design” or what about “Mariner’s Compass – Navigating with Ease” I do like the whimsy in Mike’s suggestions too—- maybe use those for some side tips or chapter headings?
    Whatever you end up calling it—- I can’t wait to get it!


  7. May the Compass be With You


  8. Mariner’s Compass – Mapping Your Own Design

    I love Mikes suggestions but they really don’t tell you that it is a quilting book about a particular concept with lots of twists

    Good luck Titles are always the mos difficult


  9. In your list, my first choice is Compass Capers with 2nd choice, Create a Compass Your Way. I also like Mike’s Star Wars inspired suggestion, but not for your book. BTW, we are injoying beautiful weather. Just had to throw that in.


  10. I like the Compass Capers title you list.
    That first quilt shown is gorgeous.
    Best of luck to you with this book.


  11. Why not . . . ?

    Compasses — Any Size, Any Shape

    Isn’t that what you’re trying to say?


  12. Compass Capers – Create Your Own Unique Mariner’s Compass Block
    Of all titles you listed I like this the best. I feel this would make me pick the book up to look at and perhaps buy it.


  13. Hi Chris,
    I like Compass Capers – creating your own unique Mariner’s compass block.
    Thanks for sharing your techniques.


  14. Compass Capers – Create Your Own Unique Mariner’s Compass Block.

    This title tells you that it is different, then you will read farther to see if it is something you would be interested in. I would not make a Mariner’s Compass block on a bet, but if I could make one different than everyone elses, I might reconsider.


  15. I agree with “Compass Capers – Create Your Own Unique Mariner’s Compass Block” – kind of long but it tells the story.


  16. So many choices!!! I like the Compass Capers…, or the first one offered above – Mariner’s Compass – Endless Possiblilties.


  17. Choice 1–combine 2 and call it “Compass Capers–Who Needs a GPS?

    Choice 2–Not Your Mama’s Compass–

    My outlandish suggestion– Origam-a MaMa–Folding Your Way To A Mariner’s Compass

    My eye would get attracted to a title that has Capers in it. Would sound like a fun book.

    Have Fun! Bonnie


  18. From the list Compass Capers…… was a favorite, because it gave you an idea of the focus of the book.
    And I enjoyed the suggestions from your husband as they are fun, but think quilters need to know what a book is about, if you want them to open the cover and look inside.


  19. “No Drafting Needed: Create a Mariner’s Compass Quilt Quickly”

    Quickly Create the Mariner’s Compass: A Guide for Quilters


  20. Journey With a Compass; You Can Go Anywhere!


  21. I like “Compass Capers – Create Your Own Unique Mariner’s Compass Block”. Seems to describe the book best.


  22. Thought of another: “Design Without Drafting: Create A Mariner’s Compass Quilt the Care-Free (or “easy”) Way.

    “Mariner’s Compass Quilts That Anyone Can Make”


  23. Compass Creations – because that says what the book is about “in a nutshell.” However, since so many others say they would pick up “Compass Capers” – that is probably the best – and does sound more whimsical.


  24. How about “Compass Capers -In a New Direction”


  25. how about “Your Creativity Points the Way: Making your own Mariner’s Compass”


  26. how exciting!! I like the “Journey With a Compass” and really like how Cathy and Sarah added —- Mapping Your Own Design” or what about “Mariner’s Compass – Navigating with Ease” I do like the whimsy in Mike’s suggestions too—- maybe use those for some side tips or chapter headings?
    Whatever you end up calling it—- I can’t wait to get it!

    +1


  27. I also like the “Compass Capers” and the map your own design suggestion. The suggestion for using Mike’s titles for chapter headings has merit. I liked those also.


  28. Hi!
    I think the longer version of the Compass Capers is the best to let prospective buyers know it is a different/better method.

    Good for you! I’ll look forward to buying it!
    Jeri


  29. How about “Navigating a Creative Compass” or “Mariner’s Compass Revisited”



Leave a Reply

