h1

Post Tripping

May 9, 2011

It took me most of Monday and Tuesday last week to unpack all the stuff I had taken to Paducah, do some laundry and catch up on mail, etc.. At that point I was left with the pile of new stuff I bought at the AQS show. It got me to thinking about quilters and shopping. I’m not sure if this will sound familiar, but there have been many years when I start packing for my annual pilgrimage to Paducah and unearth the complete, and untouched, pile of stuff I had bought there the previous year (a bit embarassing to admit to, but I bet I’m not alone :-).

This is rather guilt inducing and I truly dislike feeling guilty, so I’ve come up with a plan. Actually, my friend Laura and I brainstormed this idea 2 summers ago when we attended the Milwaukee Bead and Button Show. We walked out embracing our treasures and decided we couldn’t go back the next year unless we did something with 3 of our purchases! It ended up being a good challenge and we both were up to it. We used our 3 items in a short amount of time and felt quite virtuous.

So, here’s a photo of my Paducah 2011 “had to haves”:

You might notice a bit of fabric. Who can resist? There’s a few books and a bunch of embellishments, along with 1 tool I’ve already used. I’ll tell you about it in a future blog.

I believe this type of personal challenge will help you to not only alleviate the guilt, but inspire you to use that great stuff. One additional recommendation is to assimilate the stuff you don’t use into the stash so you avoid finding those pesky piles next year.

So………………..have you ever? What do you think of the 3 item challenge? Any additional suggestions?

6 comments

  1. The 3 item idea is GREAT!!! But I have a question – is this just a “Paducah to Paducah” challenge? Or is it a “any show” to “any show” challenge? Just got back with 2 days of purchases from the Nancy’s Notions weekend. Do I have a whole year to use 3 items? Or do I need to use 3 items before I can go to another show???? (I know, it’s up to each person to set their own rules – but curious of what others think)


    • Ooooooooooh – good questions! If it is an “any show” to “any show” challenge we would be inspired to accomplish more and probably spend a bit more wisely. I think I’ll adopt that portion of the challenge. Thanks Judy!


  2. Sounds like a great idea, I also made a few(yea right) purchases in Paducah. But before I can even touch the new stuff I have to finish a few challenges. Oh well I do love my fabric and books and other stuff I got.


  3. Looks like a Wendy Richardson overdyed checkerboard.. I bet you bought that for me…:)


  4. So that’s why I’ve never gotten back to Paducah. You could have told a bit sooner.


  5. It’s so comforting to know that my behavior is not so strange. Chris, you inspire me! Now I need to get started with 3 of my “several” purchases. I do want to return to Paducah next year!



Leave a comment