h1

Ewe! Batts!

April 11, 2011

I couldn’t resist the word play for this week’s topic. It is, of course, wool batting :-)! I’ve heard the pun is the lowest form of humor, but I’m still chuckling (my Dad always said I was my own best audience).

Moving forward – thanks for all the feedback on batts last week. Sharon seems to be liking Fusiboo™ (fusible bamboo batting) and gives her thoughts about it on her blog:   http://sharonrotz.blogspot.com/.  Another friend told me it’s great in totes and bags. The bamboo batt I mentioned is not fusible, but it feels wonderfully soft. I think I’ll try it in a crib quilt and let you know the results.

Nancy commented that she likes the Hobb’s wool because of the warmth. I would agree. There are so many benefits to the new wool batts. Wool has always been warm and snuggly, but until recently it couldn’t be washed in a quilt without a lot of shrinking problems. Technology has overcome that problem and washable wool batts are delightful. The other attribute is that they give the poofiness of poly batts when quilted sparingly, the flatness of cotton batts when quilted more closely and, best of all, a trapunto like look when the quilting density is mixed.

What a blessing this attribute is when making fiber art. The texture is wonderful! And here are some examples to back it up:

 

This small wall quilt was free motion quilted using wool batt and 100 weight silk thread. Here’s a detail shot of how the wool gives a trapunto look:

The next quilt is one of my Parallelisms series and was created during our Alaskan cruise. It’s free motion quilted with poly neon thread:

And here’s a detail of the trapunto effect:

So far I haven’t found any negatives, so if ewe haven’t tried wool batts I highly recommend them!

PS I’ll be teaching a class I call “Beginning Fast Patch” at the Hustisford High School on May 7, 14 & 21 from 8:30 to 12:30 each day. Here’s the description: 
Make a lovely wall quilt while learning basic quiltmaking skills. There will be an emphasis on rotary cutting and machine piecing. The project is a sampler of different blocks and techniques with a hearts and flowers theme that even a more experienced quilter would enjoy making while brushing up on his/her skills.

Contact Cindy at ce@hustisford.k12.wi.us for more information. 

Leave a Reply

