h1

Make Your Mark and Erase it Too!

September 12, 2010

I’ve spent the past 3 days teaching at Nancy’s Notions Sewing Expo in Madison, WI. What a great show and a wonderful teaching experience! Three days in a row I presented a lecture with the same title as this blog. The best part was how much I learned from the quilters attending. It went so well, it just seemed appropriate to share this with all of you.

I dislike the marking step when making my quilts. It takes time to make the marks and then they have to be removed. All necessary, but time consuming non-the-less. When free motion quilting I really enjoy designs that don’t need to be marked, but sometimes it just has to be done. As far as I’m concerned, marks need to be easy to put on and even easier to remove.

So, from the plethora of products available, what is your favorite method of marking your quilting design on both dark and light fabrics? I’ll share my favorites with you on Thursday, along with some of the new things I’ve learned!

One comment

  1. Hi Chris,

    I wish I would’ve have heard from my AK friend before the quilt expo last weekend or I would have looked for you there! Apparently, you bought her home in Watertown and Tami said that you’ve turned the downstairs into a quilting area…that’s great! I’m a good friend of Tami’s (we spent many hours together working at Eberts Greenhouse Village) and I now live in northern Wisconsin. I’m now a librarian in a small community and love living up here in the northwoods!

    I’ve taken up quilting because of the love I have for them and bought my first sewing machine a year ago…I’ve definitely been bitten by the quilting bug and am learning with every project! Do you have any plans to be up in northeast Wisconsin anytime soon? We’ve got a number of wonderful quilting guilds in our area…in fact, one of our local quilters took 3rd place this spring in Paducah! It would be great to meet you sometime!
    Kay



Leave a Reply

