h1

Fabric Shortage II – Thanks Jeri!

July 15, 2010

Thanks for all the great comments!

I came up with this week’s topic because I’ve been dealing with this issue once again. Shortly before my Paducah pilgramage this past Spring I was working on a quilt for an upcoming class at Waukesha County Technical College. I made a bunch of blocks with a beautiful dragonfly fabric and realized I wasn’t going to have enough for a lap sized quilt. I searched for it all over the AQS show in Paducah to no avail. Then I showed the blocks to my students/friends in a class at Madison Area Technical College in Watertown, after which I shoved all the pieces in a pile in the corner of my studio and went on to something else. A few weeks later my dear friend, Jeri, handed me a floral print fabric in the same colors and asked if it would work. Praise the Lord for quilting friends!

It was a great match and actually made the quilt even more interesting! Quite often I don’t need the exact fabric and substituting makes a better quilt.

I remember Jinny Beyer saying that 3 fabrics make a lovely quilt, 10 will be more interesting and 100 will make it spectacular (I’m paraphrasing, but you get the idea). So don’t be afraid to substitute if you can’t find more and be sure to ask your friends. Quilting friends are priceless :-)! 

One comment

  1. Its beautiful, Chris! Glad I could help. Jeri



Leave a Reply

