h1

Hanging Quilts

July 5, 2010

In grandma’s day quilts were made to keep people warm. This is still a vital function, but in recent times quilts are often made for other uses and decorating a wall is a very popular one. This leads to the question: “what’s the best way to hang a quilt on the wall?”

I’ve seen many quilts made with “tabs” along the top, curtain style, so the quilt can be hung from a pretty rod. This look often has a “country” feel and isn’t appropriate for all types of quilts.

Some quilts have an unusual orientation or shape and this can be a challenge.

Parallelisms I

 I prefer to hang my fiber art as you would a fine painting – with no visible means of support. This works for more traditional wall quilts too. I’ll detail some of my techniques on Thursday. Until then, please share your favorite methods by submitting a comment.

2 comments

  1. Hi Chris,
    I really enjoy reading your blog and also the great tips for improving my quilting. However, I am receiving duplicates. Always two of them. I must be on different lists of yours. Please check.
    Thanks, too, for the timely info on Ireland. Summer is going so fast and before you know, we will be at O’Hara waiting for take-off! Bev

    P.S. “Portals” was stunning!!!


    • Hi Bev,
      Thanks for letting me know about the duplicates, I’ve removed you from one of the lists.



Leave a Reply

